I've enjoyed a practice of working with slogans or reminders throughout the day, that help open things up when I start to get stuck in a rut.

These are some slogans that have been especially helpful for me.

We are all still learning.

None of us have it all figured out yet, each of us is still growing, experimenting, learning from mistakes.

Everything is subject to change.

Reminder that nothing is stuck. Everything is fluid, moving. Reminiscent of "This too shall pass," when things feel solid, stuck, if you feel trapped in a situation.

Everything leans.

A favorite from Elizabeth Mattis Namgyel. Reminder of interdependence: everything is leaning on everything else, we are one big house of cards. As such, what we do matters! And also, everything is fluid, flexible, relational, inseparable.

This is all a work in progress.

Life is a work in progress! Everything is under construction. Nothing is final, perfect, absolute. See "we are all still learning" above :)

What is happening here, in this moment, in this current situation?

Helps to widen my perspective and bring in curiosity if I am feeling reactive in a given situation.

This is what's happening right now.

Reminder to befriend what is going on right now so I can work with it, rather than fight it. Freeing up energy put toward resisting the reality of a situation so that it can be used instead to address & respond to what is happening, rather than fight what cannot be changed.

These are human problems.

From a friend! Can be used when facing challenges, to realize that the problems we are dealing with are human problems, faced by all humans. And through this to connect with others, knowing we are not alone in these problems.

The Serenity Prayer

Perennially helpful! My rendition:

May I have the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
the courage to change the things I can,
and the wisdom to know the difference.

Two (or more) opposing concepts can both be true.

Life is full of contradictions! Two things can be true at once that seem to contradict. This has been my experience, anyway.

Awareness does the work.

This is a current investigation... I'm finding that simply by bringing conscious awareness to my experience in a given moment, much has already been "accomplished." A shift is already complete. The pause, the opportunity to change course has been established. Is there any more to be done other than to rinse and repeat? Exploring this now...

It's complicated.

Just about sums it all up.